new here and first ever Tortoise...

Status
Not open for further replies.

kendra

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Edmonton
Hi my name is Kendra and I am new to the world or tortoises....

I just (yesterday 11MAR04) purchased a young red foot tortoise and I do have a few questions... I am presently feeding him/her fresh veggies including right now fresh greens and squash, which I am pleased to say she ate some of over night, but the little guy does not want to really open his eyes. I am thinking this is just due to stress as being moved from the pet store to the house, at least I hope so.

I will be building a custom enclosure this spring for him as well and want to put in a live plant if I can but would like to know what may be safe, and not eaten, by the goober. Any help and input to a newbie is greatly appreciated and I look forward to hearing any advice people may have for me!

As you can tell, I don't have a name for him (HELP) and would like a gender neutral name as I have no idea the sex... My beardie's name is Drew Allison Carey, or DAC for short lol

Thanks everyone!

I bought the little goober at Big Al's, the substrate there was the regular soil, the stuff you buy as bricks, and mine is a mix of the same soil and the wood chips around his water bowl for extra height and to attempt to keep the watter a little cleaner. He was in his water dish this morning and I misted last night before bed. For a hide, I have one of the silk plants and all of the leaves bent over to provide full cover to eliminate stress. The tank is exposed to plenty of natural light, south facing window, and a heat light is used to keep it warmer.

He is probably only 4 in in length right now so just a little guy.

As for a plant, it would be above ground in a separate pot... everytime I try to plant anything in my tanks, someone digs it up anyway haha!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Kendra: