new hermanns fella - not eating.

Status
Not open for further replies.

tictoc

5 Year Member
Hi there, sorry for no proper intro, am kind of in a panic about our new tortoise!!

He only arrived yesterday, so understandably he's probably stressed. He is a 3 year old Hermanns. He's got his heat mat on and the UV lamp, but so far he hasn't drunk or eaten anything. I've soaked a few pellets, added some grass and tried to entice him with some banana but he just sits under his log. His waterbowl seems to be quite hard for him to reach, although it is at ground level.

I did see him chomping his calci-sand yesterday, so have sprinkled some calcium supplement over his food. Would this put him off? Is it a better idea to get him eating first THEN supplement his food?

Sorry for all the questions - I am new to this.

He also seems to sit there swallowing and moving his front legs slightly, in a little paddling movement. He hasn't got anything in his mouth tho? Unusual?

Any advice appreciated, we are a bit worried about him. :(

We were told he wouldn't eat if he is too cold, but the thermometer says it is almost 30degrees where he is sitting, and after a quick exchange for the correct bulb at the shop he now has the UVB lamp on. Still he's under his log, though.

Am I panicking a bit too much?

lezsolt

5 Year Member
I'd turn off the heating mat and get a basking light instead. You should aim for a temperature gradient in the enclosure. Also, I'd try some fresh greens like dandelion or clover instead of banana and pellets. The "paddling" seems typical to me, both of my torts do it frequently.

bettinge

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Upstate NY