New Light For Enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chadam

5 Year Member
I am going to get a new light for my russsian's enclosure, I am an electrician and was wondering if I should get a Mercury Vapor Type of Light or 4' Flouresant and what kind of Bulb should I get if I get a Flouresant? Any Suggestions would be great. The light will be about 2' above the enclosure.

M

Maggie Cummings

I may be wrong here but I don't think that 2 feet is close enough for either a fluorescent tube or a bulb. I have both. I have a 160 watt Trex bulb for my bigger Sulcata and I have the 4' tube for my smaller tortoises. The Trex also provides heat and the fluorescent tube does not. So if you use the tube you will also need a basking light. I like the Trex, but of course they are much more costly then the tube...$50 for the Trex and $20 for the tube.

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Calif.
i would go with the MVB they are pretty neat, and make you only need one light over 2, easier to have on timers ect. Two feet would still be in range for the 160, those things shine pretty far.

tortoisenerd

5 Year Member
Washington