New Member and Red Footed Owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

linaizzie

5 Year Member
Hi All,
I'm an English teacher from New Jersey and a recent parent of two baby red footed torts (I posted some questions in what I hope was the red footed forum about care and such so advice would be appreciated there). I'm hoping to learn from the community as I raise the pair of torts and document their progress. I've attempted to attach a photo (hopefully it worked).

Thanks,
Lina

Attachments

• torts.jpeg
    torts.jpeg
    77.9 KB · Views: 44

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Lina, and welcome to the Forum!

Please reconsider replacing that waterer with a plant saucer. Those manufactured waterers have steep sides and sometimes babies will tip over backwards trying to climb out of them, landing in the water on their back. The plant saucer has sloped sides and the baby doesn't have to get "vertical" in order to climb out. Then you would sink it down into the substrate so he doesn't have to climb to get in.

linaizzie

5 Year Member
Yvonne G said:
Hi Lina, and welcome to the Forum!

Please reconsider replacing that waterer with a plant saucer. Those manufactured waterers have steep sides and sometimes babies will tip over backwards trying to climb out of them, landing in the water on their back. The plant saucer has sloped sides and the baby doesn't have to get "vertical" in order to climb out. Then you would sink it down into the substrate so he doesn't have to climb to get in.

I have replaced in within the first few minutes actually - once I realized they couldn't climb out. I will keep it until they're bigger. I'm using a seashell I found on the beach (cleaned) since it's easy to walk in and out of.

linaizzie

5 Year Member