New to tortoise from oregon

Munakmama

Location (City and/or State)
Eugene, Oregon
Hello all. I'm rather new to tortoises. Still researching and trying to decide what tortoises would be best for my area and life.

I have always liked tortoise and turtles(along with almost all animals) an since I am now allergic to all things furry (and feathered...) I was trying to find a pet I can dedicate to and enjoy with my son as he grows. I decided on torts =)

I prefer the smaller breeds (smaller the better) we are in the process of buying our first house, so I'm thinking about getting one (or a few) next spring/summer. When I figure out what breed I would like, and time to get whatever setup they need going or built. =) and find somewhere to buy the lil torts. I kind of like the idea of getting babies and watching them grow.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the forum!

One thing to bear in mind when thinking about how many you want...well, two things:

1. Never mix species. Tortoises that wouldn't ordinarily meet each other in the wild have different micro organisms inside them and they might make each other sick or even dead
2. Tortoises are solitary and will fight to chase other tortoises out of their territory.

Many of us have more than one tortoise. We do this by keeping them in large, well-planted outdoor habitats, or by keeping each tortoise in a separate habitat.

As you gain more experience, and learn more about your tortoises, you can try experimenting with mixing species or having a pair or a group of tortoises together, but as a new keeper, it's better if you start out with rules #1 and 2.

Munakmama

Eugene, Oregon