New to tortoises, advice on heating

Aroddy

Location (City and/or State)
San Diego, California
Hello, I'm new to owning a tortoise. My brother just moved to the mountains and the weather was too cold for his sulcata, He asked us if we would be willing to take her since we live in San Diego and the weather is warmer. She is about 5 years old and about 20lbs. We want to give her an enclosure as close to her natural habitat as possible. We have plenty of room as we have about 3 acres. My questions are, what would be a decent sized outside enclosure area? I read they need about 100 square feet? Also we are in the process of building her a heated room for at night and l'm not sure how to heat it. Some say Ceramic heat emitter and others say heating lamp. We keep her outside everyday that the weather is nice and she has plenty of sun. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks so much.

Dizisdalife

10 Year Member!
California
Hey there, welcome to the Forum. San Diego is good, for the most part, sulcata weather. You want to give your tortoise as much room as possible. 100 square feet is much too small. Several thousand square feet is more appropriate for a single sulcata. I devote about 3500 square feet to my sulcata. Plenty of shade is essential during the hotter months. Mine seeks out the deep shaded areas of the yard even during warm winter days, essentially whenever the air temp climbs above about 80° F. As for night time warmth, mine lives comfortably in a 4'x6'x2'high insulated night box that has an electric, oil filled radiator for its heat. Here is a link to Tom's thread on how to build a night box - https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/my-best-night-box-design-yet.66867/#post-632974.

My sulcata is about 8 years old and weighs 90lbs. He has lived outside since he was 2 years old.

Big Charlie

5 Year Member
California