New Tortoise Mommy!

Status
Not open for further replies.

drxl34

5 Year Member
Hey guys! I just got my first tortoise yesterday and already hooked! Look forward to getting advice from you! I posted another thread but here's michelangelo (creative i know)

http://youtu.be/PjSRpsWUlyQ

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi drxl34:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

What would you like us to call you?

...and may we know where (appx.) in the world you are?

drxl34

5 Year Member
my name is Corinne and I am in college in Philadelphia! (although i go home to MD a lot). Hope there are other east coasters here!

EddieW

10 Year Member!
Orlando
I'm no expert on Russians as i'm a Red Foot guy, but as a general rule I would never leave food down all day. Could attract bugs and get messy. You should just feed him once a day and let him eat whatever he can in around 30 minutes then pick up the remaining food.

The bookshelf is a good idea that a lot of people use and yours looks like a good size.

This is a good thread to read through for their diet.

http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread-Russian-tortoise-diet--42266#axzz1nyTaqmNk

drxl34

5 Year Member
EddieW said:
I'm no expert on Russians as i'm a Red Foot guy, but as a general rule I would never leave food down all day. Could attract bugs and get messy. You should just feed him once a day and let him eat whatever he can in around 30 minutes then pick up the remaining food.

The bookshelf is a good idea that a lot of people use and yours looks like a good size.

Ok thanks! I will leave it out a little extra this week so he gets used to it then just go to "feeding" time.

I have another question, could I put another species of tortoise with him or just another russian? Thanks!

Redstrike

10 Year Member!
New York