Odd behavior of my tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Loki54

5 Year Member
I am new to this website and joined in an attempt to get answers to an recent issue that has just arisen with my Mediterranean Spur Thigh tortoise. I would like to preface by noting he is a rescue that I received from a friend who was taking care of him before she had to move. Since then I have had him for roughly 4-5 years with little problems other than creating a larger enclosure for him. Just recently, he has been exhibiting a ramming type behavior into the side of the enclosure. As I am no expert in the matter I am reaching out to see if I can find some answers to the issue at hand. He receives a steady diet of kale, escarole, prickly pear, berries on occasion, and it is all supplemented with TNT powder. His light source is a zoo med power sun and his substrate is typically coconut fiber or shredded paper. If anyone could give me some insight into the issues I am facing I would highly appreciate it!

Thanks,

Loki

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). Can you post a pic of your enclosure and also your tort. How big is he?

Loki54

5 Year Member
I have these pictures attached. When my friend originally got him as a rescue as I had stated earlier he had been neglected and had some pyramiding of the shell and was calcium deficient. Together we nursed him back and he has been active and had good temperament up to this point. That is why I am very stressed and upset about the recent behavior exhibited. The picture of him by my hand would make him at about 6-6.5 inches in length.

Loki54

5 Year Member