Overhrown beak.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thalatte

5 Year Member
I hadn't seen my male ornate boxie in awhile so I dug him up to put him outside and noticed his beak is overgrown. I think it's why I haven't seen him eat. What can I do to fix it? Or should I just take him to a vet and have them trim it?

Also my female wood turtle looks like she might be getting a tad overgrown, nothing bad but how do I prevent it from getting worse? Is there something hat would prevent my hatchlings from becoming overgrown?

Forgot pictures. I just have the ones of beaker.

Attachments

• image-3830909141.png
    image-3830909141.png
    1.4 MB · Views: 68
  • image-414011739.png
    image-414011739.png
    1.4 MB · Views: 60
  • image-983419547.png
    image-983419547.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 48
  • image-2031549676.png
    image-2031549676.png
    1.3 MB · Views: 43

biochemnerd808

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Central Arkansas (we moved!)
I am not experienced with turtles, only with tortoises... BUT I know that you can file an overgrown beak a bit at a time with an emery board. I posted a little video with instructions on my tortoise blog (link in my signature), and also instructions on trimming (although you may want to have a professional do that for you, depending on your level of experience).

To prevent beaks from becoming overgrown, I would recommend feeding on a slate or flat rock, so they grind down their beaks a little when they get food. Also don't cut up the food - make them work a bit. :)

Thalatte said:
I hadn't seen my male ornate boxie in awhile so I dug him up to put him outside and noticed his beak is overgrown. I think it's why I haven't seen him eat. What can I do to fix it? Or should I just take him to a vet and have them trim it?