Potential Tortoise Owner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emyline

5 Year Member
Hello! I actually just found this forum from the Turtle Forum and thought I'd come here. It seems much more specific to my needs. I will just tell you guys what I told them in my introduction, and (if I may, in this forum??) ask some specific questions I have.

I am a college student in the New England area of the US. I've always had trouble with anxiety issues, and after a recent event I've been talking to a school therapist. He suggested I file for a mental-health-pet with my university, which is apparently allowed, and get an animal of some sort.

So! I figured one of the best animals for a semi-rural college campus, and something that I've wanted for a very long time, would be a Russian Tortoise.

I've been doing a lot of research, and I have enough space in my room for a 50gal tub or tank. But one of the things I'm worried about is the fact that, being New England, it's going to become very cold very quickly. I wasn't sure if I should hold off on getting a tortoise until I had more of a feel of temperature for him. Not that I won't have a UVA and UVB light, but... I don't know, I'm just worried something could happen to the lights or I won't get the humidity right or something like that.

Also would it be very upsetting for the tortoise if he was brought into this strange place, and then stuck inside for months on end? For some reason to me it seems better to get him during spring or summer when, after he's acclimated to his new home, I can let him roam around one of the many many lawns around here.