red foot :]

Kevin Russell

Location (City and/or State)
Georgia
hey everyone!

im new to tortoise world
ive always wanted one, i had quite a few turtles growing up

this is drax! my 3 year old redfoot i aquired him about 2 weeks ago..
learn quickly he is not like a normal pond turtle that im used to.

still trying to figure out how humidity world as far as keeping him health.
his shell color is what made me join

but here he is! and the encloser i made for him, if you are too a redfoot owner, please feel free to tell me what im missing for him.

2uzxx7m.jpg

33w4j9t.jpg

2923eis.jpg

2yun2o0.jpg

t634h0.jpg

10dgn4p.jpg

10dgn4p.jpg

331o9ax.jpg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome!

Please don't be offended. I see a few things wrong, and I have no ulterior motive other than your tortoise's health. First of all, the enclosure is a bit too small for a tortoise of that size. Next, since he comes from South America, and needs to live in a warm, humid environment, the substrate is wrong. You need something you can moisten, and it needs to be about 4 or 5" deep. Being in a too dry environment is what has contributed to his lumpy shell. He should be smooth. The next thing I noticed is the food. They eat dark, leafy greens, weeds and edible plants. You can also feed some veggies and a bit of fruit with the occasional animal protein. The manufactured "fruity pebbles" are ok to use as a topper or occasional treat, but shouldn't be the main part of his diet. There's a pretty good care sheet shown at the Tortoise Library:

http://tortoiselibrary.com/

Your new tortoise is a real beauty. I love the color on his head. Glad to have you here. You are among friends, and many of us keep the RF tortoise.

Kevin Russell

Georgia
hes just alittle bigger than my hand, and the encloser is 2ft x 4ft
im a small person so that may be why he looks so big in my lap.