Rescued Mud turtle needs help please!

Liz Burton

Location (City and/or State)
Klamath Falls
I just rescued what I believe is a mud turtle from a family who's father had passed. No one even knew he had a turtle in one of these disgusting tanks, so I have no background as to age, what it has been eating (other than algae), how long he had it, etc. The family did take it to an exotic vet who declared it "healthy but obese", but I am inclined to disagree, I think it's bloated with infection or ? It can't even close it's shell. My only experience with anything similar was a side neck that had a severe bacterial infection. This poor thing had no area for hiding, emergence, no filter, no heat and no UV other than what made it thru the windows. It is now (temporarily) in a large trough with hides, emergence area and sunlight, and I have a wide variety of insects, algae, aquatic pellets, etc for it, which it does seem to eat. After reading some of the info here, I will make it a proper tank with "beach". Meanwhile, I need all the help I can get with species ID, sexing, and what to do about the bloating? Thank you so much!
Osborn tank 2.jpgOsborn tank.jpgOsborne back.jpgOsborne bottom.jpgOsborne front.jpgOsborne side.jpgOsborne top.jpgOsborne trough.jpg

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Sadly it didn't get uv thru windows either, it doesn't go thru windows.
How sad no one knew about it.
Maybe @Markw84 can help

SinLA

Tortoise Club
Los Angeles