Russian tortoise beak length?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GilbertP24

5 Year Member
Hey guys, I'm new to tortoise forum! :) I just got a wonderful Russian tortoise named Gilbert and he is the absolute nicest tortoise ever. I took him to the vet today and even they complimented him. But I just have a question on beak length. When I got him, his beak was ridiculously long and overgrown. He could still eat, but I'm really not sure how. I took him to the vet today and they trimmed a good chunk off, but it still looks overgrown to me. :/ I was wondering if anyone could help me and let me know what the proper length is and even maybe upload pictures? It would be greatly appreciated!!! :) thank you all!!!

biochemnerd808

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Central Arkansas (we moved!)
Welcome to the forum! Could you post a pic? Then we would probably be able to tell you if it is still overgrown. :)

GilbertP24 said:
Hey guys, I'm new to tortoise forum! :) I just got a wonderful Russian tortoise named Gilbert and he is the absolute nicest tortoise ever. I took him to the vet today and even they complimented him. But I just have a question on beak length. When I got him, his beak was ridiculously long and overgrown. He could still eat, but I'm really not sure how. I took him to the vet today and they trimmed a good chunk off, but it still looks overgrown to me. :/ I was wondering if anyone could help me and let me know what the proper length is and even maybe upload pictures? It would be greatly appreciated!!! :) thank you all!!!

GilbertP24

5 Year Member
biochemnerd808 said:
Welcome to the forum! Could you post a pic? Then we would probably be able to tell you if it is still overgrown. :)

Certainly!! :)
Resampled_2013-02-04_11-09-52_465.jpgResampled_2013-02-04_11-10-44_392.jpgResampled_2013-02-04_11-11-40_733.jpgResampled_2013-02-04_11-11-56_434.jpg