Unhappy Horsefield?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jenrichjames

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hello all!

I'm hoping there might be someone who can give some advice regarding my parents new Horsefield tortoise.

They had a tortoise before, but that was some 20 years ago - and while not total novices as such, we could do with some advice!

The tortoise (approx 1 year old) seems very withdrawn e.g. as soon as it is put in the tank it buries itself, doesn't move around at all, and doesn't appear to want to eat or drink for the last day or two. My mum also thought she heard it making an unhappy squealing type sound.

It livens up a little bit when brought out of the tank, but as soon as it is put back it immediately buries itself again. I'm not sure how much it is possible to read into a tortoises mental state, but it seems very unhappy

Everything in its tank appears correct (4ft vivarium, spotlight 12hrs a day, just over 30 degrees, areas for shade etc)

Has anyone experienced a similar thing? Maybe it will just take a few weeks to get used to the new surroundings?

Thanks in advance!

Andy

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Andy: Baby tortoises are prey, and as such, they hide all the time. However, since your tortoise seems to liven up when you take it out of the viv, we'll have to assume there's something wrong with the viv.

Does he have a hiding place? What kind of spot light, and how close to the floor of the viv is it?

Yvonne

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Inland Empire, CA
When you say 30 degrees I take it you mean Celsius. which would be 86F.
Is there a colder or hotter area in the viv? what type of substrate do you have him on and yes what type and size spotlight do you have and is it obstructed by anything like screen etc.?

Torties

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member