Vivarium or not

Status
Not open for further replies.

tishtash

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hi I am new to looking after tortoises, and have introduced myself on the welcome thread.

I have been researching on the web but find so much conflicting advice, so thought best place to ask is with people that actually own them.

I have a Herman and a spur-thighed tortoise both are around 30 years old. What i wanted to know is, now that its getting colder, i was going to bring them in, in the evenings and put in the vivarium, and then for colder days in october, keep them in their for the whole day, and then wind them down to hibernate sometime in November, so it will give thm a chance to eat some more before hibernating, as according to the paperwork i have with them, when they were checked post hibernation, their weights were lower than the previous year post hibernation weight. Would this be a good idea or as they are not used to a vivarium would this be stressful them?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA