9 year old male Hermann, ready to mate?

alexfresco

5 Year Member
Hi,

I've got a 9 year old male Hermann, he's very 'active' and I think he may be ready to mate. I've never done this before so does anyone know the process to finding a female for him? How do I know they are suitable? etc...

Thanks!

tglazie

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
San Antonio, TX
Whether or not your male is ready to breed is more dependent upon size than age, though five to seven inches is usually good. Also, finding an adult hermann female is, I'm sorry to say, virtually impossible. Most folks don't want to give up an adult female, and when they do, they usually ask a hefty price, hefty at least when compared to a male. Even more difficult is finding a suitable animal, but I would say that finding a mate on the basis of similar markings is probably best. It would be better if you knew where the animal originated.

The best advice I can give is to search the For Sale tab on the forum for female Hermanns. I know Hermanni Chris had one or two a few days ago, but I would figure he probably sold them by this point, given that the animals he produces are of the highest quality and usually don't last on the For Sale forum. Obtain a younger animal (because younger ones are usually all that is available), and wait. That's what I did with my margies. I have a marginated group that is 2.1, and when Chris put up his ad for temp sexed margie females, I snatched them up as soon as I saw them. Everyone has males, because no one wants extra males in their colony, given how pugnacious they are.