Any advice on adoption?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clementine

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern, USA
Hi! My boyfriend and I are looking to adopt a tortoise. We are both in our mid-30's, have been together for over 6 years and have a home with a large, fenced in yard. I know this may not matter to some - but I'm trying to emphasize the fact that we aren't kids and are able to care for this animal :). I have been a Veterinary Technician working with exotics, avians and livestock - but have never owned a turtle or tortoise.
We've done our home work and are looking at the Sulcata or perhaps a Leopard or Greek.

We would REALLY prefer adoption to buying from a breeder - but I'm not finding anything but animals available within the state of California (and wont be shipped). Should we turn our sights to buying instead?

kanalomele

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
East Bay area
Welcome to TFO! You can't find a sulcata to adopt in California! ?? Wow! If that is what you want to do I'd be happy to put you in touch with a few rescue groups throughout the state. Otherwise id say watch your local craigslist. Many of the rescues begin right there.

shellysmom

10 Year Member!