Enclosed chamber?

Jdlewellen

Location (City and/or State)
McKinney TX
We are getting a hatchling sulcata and I've tried to read everything on this forum about them but just want to make sure we have what it needs.

7'x3' closet with greenhouse plastic over the top to hold in the humidity. I'm an organic veg farmer so I was going to put some of my soil in there if you think it's ok. It's mostly compost I've made here with my own veg waste and peat moss. And since I'm always pulling weeds I was just hoping to transplant some plaintain, vetch and maybe some nice big Johnson grass. We have the heat lamps but since we're going into summer I was planning on holding off on the uvb lamp. We'll have 2 hides(one humid and one not as humid?) I have a tempstick which monitors humidity and temp with an app on my phone. Am I missing anything?
Pick of the base enclosure.
Thanks!
John

20200412_142706.jpg

nicoleann2214

NY
We are getting a hatchling sulcata and I've tried to read everything on this forum about them but just want to make sure we have what it needs.

7'x3' closet with greenhouse plastic over the top to hold in the humidity. I'm an organic veg farmer so I was going to put some of my soil in there if you think it's ok. It's mostly compost I've made here with my own veg waste and peat moss. And since I'm always pulling weeds I was just hoping to transplant some plaintain, vetch and maybe some nice big Johnson grass. We have the heat lamps but since we're going into summer I was planning on holding off on the uvb lamp. We'll have 2 hides(one humid and one not as humid?) I have a tempstick which monitors humidity and temp with an app on my phone. Am I missing anything?
Pick of the base enclosure.
Thanks!
John
Soil should never be used, along with peat moss. Try cypress mulch, coco choir, oak. If you go too @Tom ’s profile he has many sulcata articles especially for beginners.

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Welcome....