Enclosure plan help

sjones28

Location (City and/or State)
Rochester NY
I'm currently planning an enclosure for my Hermanns tortoise Shelby i'm attaching the plan below. I plan on lining the entire interior with heavy duty tarp, haven't decided on substrate yet. do these dimensions look alright? id love to make it bigger but I live in an apartment so room is limited. also any suggestions on substrate/things i'm missing? i'm new to tortoise keeping and want to make sure i'm providing a comfortable home for my new bud. PS keep in mind that there will be about 6 inches of substrate so with 2ft walls there will be a 1.5 ft barrier around the outsidetortoise_enclosure.PNG

sjones28

Rochester NY
I'm currently planning an enclosure for my Hermanns tortoise Shelby i'm attaching the plan below. I plan on lining the entire interior with heavy duty tarp, haven't decided on substrate yet. do these dimensions look alright? id love to make it bigger but I live in an apartment so room is limited. also any suggestions on substrate/things i'm missing? i'm new to tortoise keeping and want to make sure i'm providing a comfortable home for my new bud. PS keep in mind that there will be about 6 inches of substrate so with 2ft walls there will be a 1.5 ft barrier around the outsideView attachment 278075
Also #17 is supposed to be tarp

vladimir

5 Year Member
Pennsylvania
I love the diagram :D

How high up will the elevated section be? 2 feet? If the ramp is only 3 feet long it will likely be too steep, even with the rungs.

sjones28

Rochester NY
I love the diagram :D

How high up will the elevated section be? 2 feet? If the ramp is only 3 feet long it will likely be too steep, even with the rungs.