fertile eggs ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnschmidt

5 Year Member
Hi !

My russian tortoise layed two eggs seven days ago.
Ive looked for clues to see if they are fertile or not, but since its my first time, Im a bit low on experience.
Ive read that one of the signs is that the egg is "chalking over", but i havent seen that yet in my eggs, on the other hand Im not sure at what time this happens. What I HAVE seen however is two darker shadows in the top parts of the eggs. ( I keep them standing, since I found them in that position)

Perhaps anyone can give my any clues ?
1.jpg
Egg one

2.jpg
Egg two

Last edited by a moderator:

ALDABRAMAN

KEEPER AT HEART
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
SW Forida
I have an extremely hard time seeing indicators prior to 21 days, the dark spot on the top could be an air bubble. Don't count it out as infertile, give it time to further develop!

JoeImhof

5 Year Member
ALDABRAMAN said:
I have an extremely hard time seeing indicators prior to 21 days, the dark spot on the top could be an air bubble. Don't count it out as infertile, give it time to further develop!

My fertile russian eggs have always started to show obivious chalking by 7 days. That spot is the right size to be a week old chalking. IF so, will will get bigger by the day, you will notice a size difference 24 hrs later. The spot can be seen by the naked eye to a point, and that part should look "whiter" than the rest of the egg.

Let us know if it grows over next few days.

Never heard of keeping one upright like that. Hopefully thats ok. dont rotate it now, but next time, its perfectly ok to put it horizontal as long as you get the egg soon after its laid. Its only once the egg is growing inside that you cant rotate.

Keep us posted, good luck

johnschmidt

5 Year Member
Thanks for the replies guys! I´ll be patient and post if i see anything different.

johnschmidt

5 Year Member
RE: fertile eggs ? -NEW EGGS !

UPDATE!