Filing beak?

Glosseryck

Location (City and/or State)
MALMKÖPING
I don't know if I should file my torts beak. He's a male adult Greek, exact age is unknown as he was released by a previous owner. What I do know is that he's been about the same size for 8 years.

I'm new to keeping a tort, I've had him for less than a year. He eats from a terracotta plate with a piece of slate underneath, and I thought that would keep his beak the right size. I feel like it's grown a bit the last few months, should I file it or does it look good? He doesn't have much trouble eating, he gets everything in his belly but sometimes I feel like his beak gets a bit in the way. (My phone has a terrible camera, please ignore that, he's also outside of his cage purely for the photos)IMG_20220128_141720_954.jpgthe white spots on his head are calcium, he's a messy eater.IMG_20220128_141752_595.jpg

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Looks fine to me.
If you chop up some of his food into tiny pieces and lay them single layer on the terracotta saucer, he will rub his beak more on the dish and it should file it down some over time. Do this with a small amount of food and then when he has finished it give him his normal amount in the full size.
You do feed more items then just the lettuce correct? Lettuce like that is mainly water with little to no nutritional value. The tuffer darker green stuff is a better choice and the ripping of the leaves will also help his beak.

zovick

10 Year Member!
I don't know if I should file my torts beak. He's a male adult Greek, exact age is unknown as he was released by a previous owner. What I do know is that he's been about the same size for 8 years.