First Enclosure for First Tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

robopeen

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
SF Bay Area
This is for my new Hermann's hatchling.

The humidity is around 50%, it was 60% last night but dropped to 30% this morning so now I have a towel over most of enclosure and I've been adding a lot of water to the moss under the CHE.

The temperatures are:
Basking: 93-100 depending on where I point my temp gun
Warm: 75-80
Cool: 64
Night: 62

Are these temperatures too cold for a baby Hermann's?

Any input on the enclosure would be great! This is my first time so I'm still learning.

Btw: I will be adding some succulents and other tortoise safe plants this weekend.

In case anyone is wondering: my baby has been super active and eating lots, Ellington is even taking food from me. He/she loves her cuttlebone and also likes the orchard grass I added to his/her food.

Link to pics (the posted ones got turned around funny):
http://i3.minus.com/igve8krXuHHGs.JPG
http://i5.minus.com/iG6jS59adgJY8.JPG
http://i4.minus.com/inpzMYBQn32TW.JPG

Attachments

• photo (4).JPG
    photo (4).JPG
    356.2 KB · Views: 87
  • photo (5).JPG
    photo (5).JPG
    502.8 KB · Views: 62
  • photo (6).JPG
    photo (6).JPG
    406.2 KB · Views: 48

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Congrats. The enclosure looks pretty good. The plants you will be adding will help with the humidity and make the enclosure that much nicer. I don't know much about hermanns, but for a baby, I would think the temps of 64-62 would be a little too cold. But hopefully a hermanns member will be on soon to confirm.

robopeen

5 Year Member
SF Bay Area
wellington said: