First tortoise table

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaggieeNicolee

5 Year Member
Hi, I'm new to owning a sulcata and I will be attempting to construct a tortoise table, right now he is between 4-6 months old, so little and living in the wrong type enclosure apparently.
Right now I have about 18 inches by 28 inches to work with.
That's indoors, I have much more room to work with if I do an outdoor table
however we have so much good natural safe grass that would be going to waste if I did a table, but I can't leave him outside all day it'll get to hot and I'll loose him in my five acre un enclosed yard. Plus there's a dog that lives near me and horses next door so He will get hurt.

If you have any advice for me that would be great, I can tell he's bored with his enclosure now because he keeps climbing and trying to push the walls and digging. But doing a table as opposed to this enclosure will drastically increase the draft

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Orange County, So Cal
Be sure, must-must-must, to read Tom's threads in the sulcata section.
You will love the information on how to raise your little sulcata to keep it from being spikey scutes gone pyramided. Read the info over there, often, but in a nutshell it is best to be thinking in terms of a closed chamber so you keep his home hot and humid. It is not what you read in old books that is rather old school. Tom has wonderful pics of what he does and the best part is seeing the results, evidenced based results, from the fine keepers on this forum. You will love what you read and your little baby can thrive, not just survive! When you also read about the hot and humid conditions in Africa when hatchlings are born, how they hide so they do not get eaten, in hot and humid burrows, it all starts to make sense. Woo hoo! : )

ScottishFish

5 Year Member
Scotland