First Tortoise.

Marius5013

Location (City and/or State)
Stenløse, Denmark.
Hello there, my name is Marius and I'm new to both the forum and the tortoise world in general.
I'm getting a Greek tortoise soon for free by someone I know (they have five, don't know specific species) and I'll be making a tortoise table for him before I go and get him. I've read the Greek tortoise care sheet, but I've still got a few questions.

Question 1: Lighting and heat.

I've been looking at the ExoTerra Heat Glo Infared 150 watt and the Day Glo Spot 150 watt as they suggest this combination for a 24 hour cycle. By this do they mean I have the Day Glo turned on during the day and the Heat Glo during the night? Btw I'm getting the Habistat Dimming night/day as Exo Terra suggest a dimming thermostat with the Heat Glo. It's a bit confusing for me, so I'd like a few suggestions as to how I handle the lighting.

Question 2: Now I think about it, that's more or less the only thing I'm having trouble with. I'd really like a 24 hour cycle where the light dims and the temperature decreases into the night.

Any tips and suggestions related to keeping my tortoise healthy and happy is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!!

Minority2

Tortoise Hell
1. Where are you getting this information from?

Red bulbs can confuse tortoise into eating unwanted material in their enclosures. It may be too disorienting for some people and tortoises. I do not recommend using them.

Greek tortoises do not necessarily require night time heating unless temperatures fall below 65-60F. Use a ceramic heat emitter or reptile heating panel if your enclosure gets too cold. Again, do not use a red bulb.

2. What do you plan to use for UV(B) lighting? You've only suggest two basking bulbs. Basking bulbs should be set for 12-14 hour daily cycles.

I'm afraid I cannot help you find a dimming fixture because I have not considered doing so. Someone else with more experience with dimming equipment will be more helpful here.