first tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

lacey121

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
New Orleans, Louisiana
Hi ya'll, my name is Lacey and im a new tortoise owner as of two days ago. I've worked at a small animal clinic for aobut 3 years now, and i'm close to graduating a vet. tech program. I've owned reptiles for as long as i can remember, but i'm very new to tortoises.

A friend of mine knew someone who had a tortoise and wasn't taking too great of care of her and didn't really want her anymore. She had her for about 2 1/2 years and kept her in an aquarium she could barely turn around in, sand as substrate, and she only had a heat lamp. She was being fed pet store tortoise food (two diferent types of pellets), 'grape tomatoes', and lettuce. She also seems to be pyramiding, but i think it might be the early stages? She might have a URI, when she breathes it sounds pretty wheezy, and she had fecal material stuck to her feet, bottom of her shell, and all over her vent and tail.

I brought her to work yesterday with me, we cleaned her up best we could and gave her a warm soak. We are trying to see if we fix the husbandry issues if that will help. If not, we are going to start her on some antibiotics.