Getting a Red foot tortoise.

sarah w.

hello all!

I currently work at a pet store and we received a red foot tortoise. I do believe he will not get the proper care he requires at my store so I'm purchasing him. Super excited by the way.

However. I've owned many pets. And I've got 3 big tanks up and running and so on and so forth. I've never owned a reptile. I'm new to this part. So. What do you recommend for his lighting and stuff? I read the solar glo bulbs are great. That's my main question is his lighting.

DutchieAmanda

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Netherlands
Hi Sarah! So cool you are getting a redfoot :)

They need heat (day and night), most people use a Ceramic Heat Emitter (CHE) on a thermostate.
They also need UVB light. I think most redfoot ownership use a tube type UVB light. I use a Mercury Vapor Bulb (MVB) myself, which provides heat, UVB and light in one. However, most redfoots don't really like bright lights I've heard.

It is best to use a closed chamber enclosure to keep heat and humidity in. Redfoots need a humidity of at least 70-80%.

Good luck with your setup! When can we see pics of your new friend? :)

sarah w.

I'll be getting him in two weeks :) I'm setting up his enclosure first and then he will be home with me! I just want to get a good idea as to what bulbs to get and what temp they need and what not! :)

sarah w.

What do you recommend for an enclosure? Some places I read tank. Some places say no tank.

Redstrike

10 Year Member!
New York
I run closed chambers, which you could replicate with a tank, you'd just need to cover the top. The benefit to these is that they keep heat and humidity in, two things you need for your redfoot (hatchling/juvenile/subadult?). I'm not sure where you're located, but I'm in NY state, so we have cold, dry winters. Maintaining heat & humidity with an open-topped enclosure is laughable.
Current setup: