Habitat Lighting and heating!

DobbyRed

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Puerto Rico
Hi everybody and Merry Christmas. I'm looking some suggestions regarding what type of UVB lamp I can use for the habitat of my RF Dobby. Thanks to all I got informed that the spiral UVB bulb is not so good, I have a CHE in one side for the nightime, a 30-50-100 daylight all natural light bulb for heating in the center and Im going to put a UVB tube lamp on the other side, "BUT" when I went to get the new UVB lamp, I have a lot of differents UVB tube bulbs in which I have no idea what it means. (I'm new with all this).
I see that there are: 2.0, 5.0, 10.0, all with differents watts.
The habittat where Dobby lives is 24WX60LX12H.
ImageUploadedByTortForum1387475610.129589.jpg
What would be the best lamp for her in this habitat???
Need all the help and suggestion I can get. Thanks!!!!

Last edited by a moderator:

Redstrike

10 Year Member!
New York
I see you're in Puerto Rico, so your humidity levels should be excellent as long as you don't run air conditioning in the room they are in.

I like to use the Zoo Med Reptisun 10.0 bulbs (long tube florescent) because my enclosure just shy of a meter tall (see the second link in my signature below). If I used a weaker bulb not much UVB would contact the tortoises. Height from the bulb is the main criteria to consider when making this decision.

Lastly, the best way to obtain UVB rays is to take the tortoises outside (if possible). You're in an excellent climate for keeping redfoots!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
This is coming from a person who has very little experience with RF tortoises, so you can take it or leave it...however, I do have YF tortoises and Manouria tortoises and box turtles, and I think the care for the RF might be similar.