HELLLLP!!! PLEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.

moonraser

5 Year Member
I am worry sick…need HELP

I am very new to Tortoise and I just received a Redfoot tortoise on Tuesday morning. I am very concerned about my little “Q”

Day one…
The first day she have a few bit of the cactus leaf and a piece of papaya I give her…it is the size of a quarter…she did not finish it nor did not touch the green.

Day 2
She ate the whole cactus and half of the papaya but did not touch the green (wheat grass and spring mix.

Day 3
Today she did not touch anything.
What is wrong?
The heat is at 85F – 90F at day time and 78F -82F at night. I spray water 2 times a day; I have added reptisafe in the water and change my water bottle every day.
Today was a rainy day so I have turn on the UVB light…the other days was very sunny so I did not need it.
Is it the UVB light that she did not like?

I personally don’t like worms…the thought of it give me goose bumps…but I have read that tortoise love butterwarms…Should I get her some?
Sam told me not to handle her for 3 weeks…but how can I soak her in warm water if I can’t handle her? She needs water somehow?

She also never comes out of her hide…not even for eating…I had to put the foods very close to the entrance of her hide…today I have lift up the rock of her hide to see if she is still alive since she did not eat the foods I put.

Any help will be appreciated
Thanks
PH 

webskipper

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
AZ
What State are you in?

When temps are favorable outside, you can giver her at least an hour of sunshine daily to let her body do what it needs to do, like keep that shell hard.

We all need an hour of sun daily.

What does she do when you observe her from outside the room? Maybe she is a shy girl?

moonraser

5 Year Member
webskipper said:
What State are you in?