Hello from new member

psmith

Location (City and/or State)
South carolina
Hi everyone, we are expecting a baby leopard tortoise in the next day or two and after perusing this site I thought it would be a good idea to join. I'm new to tortoises so all advice and help is appreciated!
Here is some background info- I've kept turtles in the past but not long term. They were all local caught and released after a few weeks. My father got me started as a little kid, he set up what we called the turtle farm, which was a large chicken wire enclosure with a baby pool sunk in the middle. Whenever we found box turtles they went in for a few weeks then were released on our property (several acres with a pond). There were plenty of others like yellow bellies, mud turtles, some spotted turtles but the boxes were always my favorite and we could always find them around the property. This carried on until my early twenties.