Hello :)

Nyo

Hey guys, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to this so please be gentle :3

I need some advise on what type of turtle would be suitable for a newbie like myself, what type of care and food they need, pretty much everything I should know. Do's and don'ts, anything really.
Any information would be greatly appreciated and I'd be more than willing to answer any questions you have for me :)
Looking forward to your replies~

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Are you interested in a water turtle, or a land turtle?

We'll need to know a bit about your specifics - where you are, house or apartment, climate, etc.

Nyo

I live in a house in indiana, I'm not sure what type of turtle I would like to be honest with you which is why I came here :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Here's my take on both types of animal:

Water turtles are a whole lot of fun because of their interaction with you, the keeper. However, they are extremely time consuming and an awful lot of work unless you spend a lot of money to get a really good filtering system and a large enough aquarium.

In my opinion, tortoises belong outside. So I feel that if you live in a country or climate where the tortoise can't live outside most of the year, then you shouldn't get one. Harsh, I know, but that's how I feel.

Lots of people have indoor turtles and tortoises. It can be done. I just don't feel its the right place for them.

Read through our enclosure section and look at some of the pictures our members have put up. Try to get a better idea what fits into your life style, a water turtle or a land turtle. Once you've decided that, we can help you pick a good first turtle/tortoise.

ben awes

5 Year Member
Nyo said:
Hey guys, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to this so please be gentle :3