Hello

Lolly_g

Hi,

I am new to keeping tortoises, I have just been given 2 red foot tortoises about 5 years old.

One of them is making a noise! The other one doesn't do this, he has done it since I got them 2 weeks ago.

I am keeping them in a home made tortoise table, they both eat loads and seem happy but the bigger one makes this noise which I'm not sure if it's normal!

If anyone could give me any advise I would be very grateful!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome to the Forum!

Your tortoises would probably appreciate some dirt to dig down into. Especially RF tortoises, need more humidity in their environment, and you can't really provide that on the floor tiles you have in the picture.

747117wei24kafiu.gif

Lolly_g

Hi thanks, this is just where I have them outside. They live indoors and have soil covered in bark chips. I am quite concerned about the noise he is making

Lolly_g

image.jpg

This is their enclosure, does it look ok? They have been outside every day but not for long as I'm not sure if it's warm enough for them outside

Kathy Coles

5 Year Member
North Carolina
Can you tell us when he makes the noise. Is it when he is breathing or when he pulls his head in? But my tort doesn't make any noise except when quickly pulling back into his shell, then it is kind of a hissing sound.

Lolly_g

It's when he is breathing, he doesn't do it all the time but does it often. I have just recorded a video which I will try and put on here but not sure if you'll be able to hear. It is sort of a hissing sound.

NicoleB26

5 Year Member
Rome, OH