Help! Tortoise feeding problem...maybe

Norwoody

I am new to tortoises and have had a baby (hatchling) sulcata for about 3 months. I recently noticed that she has bad aim when eating. She will open her mouth and completely miss, like she has very poor depth perception. Is this normal or should I be concerned about her vision? Thanks so much!

mike taylor

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
What kind of lighting do you have ? I ask because red lights will make everything look like food and coil uvb lamps will burn there eyes . What kind of plate are you feeding on ?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
My leopard used too do that when I first got him too. Also the two leopards I cared for a couple months ago did the same a lot. I don't know why, but mine just seemed to out grow it. The lights suggested, I would would change out if you are using them. I would also pile the torts food until he gets better. Also, please read Toms threads below in my post for proper care and housing your sully.

Norwoody

During the day I have a UVB (coil) and purple heat lamp, at night I turn off the UVB. Her dish is a resin plastic with a ramp (actually made for hermit crabs, but it seemed more appropriate since she's so tiny. However, I generally put her greens in a clean corner of the cage next to her dish so they're easier to get to.
This is basically what she does...
http://youtu.be/XrYs5lwhjow

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA