How often should my tortoise go poo?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollie1999

5 Year Member
We have had our tortoise since Friday so 4 days now and he has not gone poo. Is that a problem and how often should he?
Hollie

Winnie-and-Oliver

5 Year Member
I am having the same problem. Neither one of mine has gone yet and i have had Winnie for 8 days and Oliver for 6 days. Wish I had an answer for you. They both poo'd in the boxes coming home from the store, but nothing since. They just finally started eating good a few days ago though...

Stephanie Logan

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Colorado
Yay, another poop thread!

I'm only a novice tortoise keeper myself, and I have often worried that my Chaco tortoise is not pooping enough, but she is a picky eater and must have a slow digestive process. Sometimes she goes for several weeks without pooping. Now that she is eating more and exercising more in the summer weather, she poops every few days.

I think poop retention is very common in torts that have just been moved to a new environment. Soaking your tort in warm shallow water for 20 minutes every day or so should help, but I don't think you need to worry too much yet. ;)

Welcome to the forum! Post some photos of your new torty for us to admire. :D

hollie1999

5 Year Member
Thank you for your info! I will try the warm water cause I also heard that from someone else.
Thanks again!

agiletorts

10 Year Member!
San Jose, CA
Obviously they won't poo much if they don't eat much. My tortoise always eat more when they're outside during summer under the sun, and they'd poo a lot :cool:.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
CA