Indoor tortises??

Ryananimation

Location (City and/or State)
Illinois
Hi, I'm a new member and I'm also a newbie when it comes to tortoises. I have been researching multiple types of tortoises for the past year but haven't really found which one I would like to get. I live in central il and our weather is very unpredictable. I'm looking for a tortoise that does ok inside most of the year, but I plan to have them outside in the summer. Any suggestions? Size doesn't really matter to me. I also have a very large basement to fit a big enclosure in. I also want to rescue one☺. And I was just wondering is it even possible for any species of tortoise to live indoors year round? When I was reasearching that topic seemed to be very controversial. Thanks!

Lark_Tortoise

5 Year Member
Ct
I would recommend a Russian Tortoise, they aren't too large or too hard to care for (but they are still a huge commitment, don't get me wrong), they can stay inside for a good amount of the year, although it is good for them to get some natural sunlight when it is warmer out.
Here is the care-sheet:
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

Good luck! I'm glad you are doing your research before you buy a tortoise!:D

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Greek, russian or eastern hermanni should all work. And you have the option of letting them hibernate while things are frozen outside. All are small enough to live in a large basement enclosure as long as they have the right heating and lighting.

I would build or buy a large closed chamber enclosure for your basement. This will be MUCH easier to heat and humidify to whatever levels you choose.

MickeyMouse

L'Assomption, Quebec, Canada
I live near Montreal, in Quebec province, Canada, our climate is not really tortoise friendly, but there are some tortoise keepers, and I am one of them since a few month, after searching for as much information possible.