Info please

Jenjen1980

I am new to this we had found an abandoned we've had it for awhile now , I have been getting info from a pet shop on how to care for it not sure if it is male or female they say it's an Asian box any info on what it can eat or anything else will be greatly appreciated please

20170128_132550.jpg

yillt

I am new to this we had found an abandoned we've had it for awhile now , I have been getting info from a pet shop on how to care for it not sure if it is male or female they say it's an Asian box any info on what it can eat or anything else will be greatly appreciated please
Hi. Welcome to TFO. firstly, could you please share some pics of his enclosure? Also, what are the temps at the cool and hot end and what is the humidity level? It's suggested that you don't let tortoises walk around on the floor as
1.its cold
2. It's dirty and they could pick up dust bunnys, dirt or prices of plastic etc..
You will get plenty of info from the forum so you've already taken the first step to becoming a wonderful tortoise parent. :D

Jenjen1980

Thank you so much this is what he was in when we found him and the pet shop said it was good for him there is coconut bedding in the bottom they said it was the best for him there's no heat lamp my house stays around 65 to 80 all the time so they told me he would be good that if I used a lamp it might cook him1485629800637-1446073714.jpg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Your pet shop is all wet. He needs a light over one end so he can warm up his inner core.

If it truly is an Asian box turtle, he needs way more water than that. But he sort of looks like a water turtle to me. He hasn't been taken very good care of, and he's a bit deformed, making it hard for me to really know what species he is. Let's send a shout out to @juli11 and @Anthony P and @HermanniChris

If it does turn out to be an Asian box turtle, here's a care sheet: