Injured Tort Help please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Creteloc

5 Year Member
So I called Animal Control about a Russian Tort that I saw advertised that was being fed fruit loops, kept in a 20 gallon aquarium with no hide and no heat lamp and no substrate, just the glass bottom of the aquarium...

I explained to them that I'm setting up a tort table this weekend, the heat lamp is on order, but that's all I have...

Long story short. They seized the tort because it has been attacked by the owners dog and has part of his shell missing and a little damage to his neck. A vet checked him out and there's no long-term damage but he is missing a chunk of shell and needs salve on his little neck wound.

They want me to come get him :( I'm not ready! I told them that but they said a box in my warm home is better than he has now as long as I have a full setup coming.

Do I go get him? I haven't owned a tort yet but I've been researching for about 5 months. Table's set up this weekend. The heat lamp is supposed to be delivered around Tuesday. Coir isn't in until Friday though. Food's not a problem, I have an organic food store right by me with fresh veggies.

The adoption fee is $65 but I can handle that too.

Baoh

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Florida
If you want to save him, go get him. It is better than the alternative. He should be okay during the temporary situation.

Creteloc

5 Year Member
Do I just stick him in a box in a warm room though with some food and water? I guess I could fashion a hide out of a shoe box or something. I don't have any warm lights.

Shelly

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Southern California
Creteloc said:
Do I just stick him in a box in a warm room though with some food and water? I guess I could fashion a hide out of a shoe box or something. I don't have any warm lights.

Any incandescent bulb will do, even just a regular desk lamp would be fine.

Baoh

10 Year Member!
Florida