keeping water clean on partial water part of tank

Status
Not open for further replies.

PumpkinPie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Visalia, CA
My turtles are getting more active with the warmer weather and longer days, and I bought a new outside of the tank filter for them the other day. a Zoo-Med TC-30, it has the line that sucks the water out of the tank to the outside charcoal filter and the other line puts the water back in the tank. The turtles like to lay their heads under the running water, and it gives them more swimming room not having a filter in there anymore. But the water is still getting dirty fast a lot faster than I thought, and this new filter seems much trickier to clean than my old one was!! :(

I have done a little research and I have read that getting rid of the rocks on the water side helps, and to feed them the turtles in a separate container. It just stinks because I am a full time student and I work too, so there are days when I don't think I will have time to feed them in a separate container like that. Some days yes.... But honestly, I like to know that they always have food available... Any other suggestions? We use a pump to syphon the waste from the bottom of our fish tank that the waste in the rocks that pump can't get, should I try that? Or just loose the rocks? I happen to have an extra pump, never been used.... I just need to buy a bucket.
My boyfriend says the tank is smelling, he loves them too, but says we need to figure it out.... but I am cleaning it as often as I can, and I just don't know what else to do!! Suggestions please!!!!! thanks!!! :rolleyes::tort:

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA