Kindle Fire

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
what are the differences between the kindle and the new kindle fire?

AnthonyC

5 Year Member
New York
I've been tossing around the idea of getting a Kindle, but haven't completely joined the bandwagon on this one yet. I'm SO reluctant to give up my ink & paper books. As a teacher, I can see the trend moving toward digital media for books so eventually I'm going to have to dooky or get off the pot.

stephiiberrybean

5 Year Member
Nottingham, U.K
AnthonyC said:
I've been tossing around the idea of getting a Kindle, but haven't completely joined the bandwagon on this one yet. I'm SO reluctant to give up my ink & paper books. As a teacher, I can see the trend moving toward digital media for books so eventually I'm going to have to dooky or get off the pot.

I was exactly the same. I love my books, I love books in general. I am so protective over them it's unreal!
So I was really reluctant to get the kindle. Here's why I bought one.

My mum reads loads and so for her birthday she asked for a kindle. She has started needing glasses but hated them and loved the fact she could make the font 10x bigger on the kindle, making it easier for her to read with and without her glasses.

So when my mum got hers I was curious. I stole hers one evening and started playing with it.
I found the kindle 100x lighter to hold than a book. I also found you could get brand new £10 books for £3!!!! Meaning I could afford to buy more books and therefore read more.

It also made life a lot easier for me with it being lighter. I'm often in a lot of pain so sometimes holding up a big heavy book to read just wasn't possible.

When i went on holiday I took about 10 books with me on the kindle. Which saved space and weight!