Lights and heat for Russian

Status
Not open for further replies.

lcbear13

5 Year Member
Hi everyone
I am new to tortoise keeping and everything I read contradicts what I previously read so I am asking for your help.

I have a young russian tort in a 20 gallon aquarium. He will soon be in a 4 x 2 table so the requested info would apply to that also.

I am so confused on the lighting and heat lamp needed.

He is kept in a room that is warm and when I turn the heat lamp on it gets so hot so fast.

When and for how long do I keep the uv light on.

Any help anyone can provide will be greatly appreciated

Thank you so much

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). I use a CHE on a thermostat and is set for 75. I then have a mercury vapor bulb for basking. That is on for two hours, unless he cant go outside for the day, then I leave the mercury bulb on for 8-12 hours. It will be hard to keep a small area heat regulated correctly. Will be easier when you get the table done, but if you could make the table larger, like a 5x3 or 6x3 it would be even better and easier.

Levi the Leopard

IXOYE
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Oregon
Day time:

1 light for the basking spot. This can be a regular house light 65 watt or 75 watt in a dome fixture. Hang the fixture over a spot in the enclosure and raise or lower the fixture until the temperature below it (at tortoise level) is 95F. For accuracy use a digital probe thermometer our infrared temp gun.

If your tortoise will spend a few hours a week outside then you don't need a UV light.
If not, provide a second light that emits UV. The long tube florescent bulbs are good. Do not use a coil or compact UV bulb. They have a reputation for causing eye problems.

Have both of these day lights on a timer. On for 12 hours, off for 12 hours. It's a day/night cycle.

For night time: