MBD symptoms ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DonaTello's-Mom

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
California, central coast
Just curious about how a tortoise acts ( or looks) when they have MBD? Are there different degrees of it, like from severe to mild? Does anyone have a picture they could post? Thanks.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Soft shell, weakness or paralyzation of the limbs (usually the back ones), the normally domed carapace can have a "flat" spot over the back. In severe cases, the lack of calcium in the bloodstream can cause them to shiver, twitch or have seizures. These things are often accompanied by lethargy and lack of appetite. There are probably more, but these are the ones I've seen and, I think, the most typical.

DonaTello's-Mom

5 Year Member
My Donnie shakes or kinda 'bobb's his head sometimes. Is that normal for them or could that be a sign of MBD? Keep in mind I'm still rather new to torts and I'm just wondering whats 'normal' verses not. He has his "free choice' Cal and does visit it quite often. Good varied diet and outside grazing in the weed filled yard.

sammi

10 Year Member!
San Diego, CA
Head bobbing is fine. If I remember correctly, its a territorial/mating thing. Ernie bobs his head all the time at me :p

DonaTello's-Mom

5 Year Member
Oh really?? I've noticed it when he raises up on all 4 legs and does the head bobbing thing. Thanks because of course (once again) I was worried about my baby.!

M

Maggie Cummings

That's how Bob got the name Bob. His previous keeper named him, I would have been more clever. But I just kept it, Bob...:D

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California