My last thread of the year...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gerards

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Florida
bdavison said:
Total novice question. She is really interesting, but I have always thought of albino animals as being genetically weak. She would likely not survive to breeding age in the wild, simply because she lacks natural camouflage. Is it a good idea to breed her? Or is it just an experiment for the pet trade? I know exactly nothing about breeding turtles, so please don't take this wrong. I'm just curious. Albino animals lack their protection from the sun, which is so inherent in a turtle's proper development and metabolism. Is it known what the life expectancy and health expectations are? Do turtles get skin cancer? Have I spent too much time on angelfish forums where breeders know a freakish amount of information about the genetics of their fish?? LOL

Albino turtles do just fine outside. The first albino red ears have been outside for almost thirty years, still producing. I have got several wc adult albinos that lived with the defect without a hitch. I would agree that it would make it really hard for them to make it but only because they stand out too much. As for the pet trade, she is my pet and I would have to make a pile of them before I would sell any. Money isnt why I have her, just because she is so awesome!

bdavison

5 Year Member