My tortoise broke its nails

lololol

Location (City and/or State)
Egypt
My tortoise fell a few minutes ago from the bed and it broke 2 of her nails and it’s bleeding what can I do please??

image.jpgimage.jpg

?image.jpgimage.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Crush da Baum

Brooksville
If the nails brake at a certain point they will bleed. They will grow back but I would try to keep it from getting infected. I am not a professional so I do not know if you should go to the vet. Just try to stop it from happening again. I know it is fun to bring you tort with you on your bed but be careful. My tort fell from my couch a year ago onto the hardwood and chipped his marginal scute. I felt soo bad and never did it again. Now I just lay on the carpet with a pillow so he can't fall.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
For the future, everyone should have styptic powder in their first aid kit. It's a substance that causes bleeding to stop.

I've heard one can also use flour, but I've never tried it.

lololol

Egypt
If the nails brake at a certain point they will bleed. They will grow back but I would try to keep it from getting infected. I don't think it warrants a vet visit or concern but I am not a professional. Just try to stop it from happening again. I know it is fun to bring you tort with you on your bed but be careful. My tort fell from my couch a year ago onto the hardwood and chipped his marginal scute. I felt soo bad and never did it again. Now I just lay on the carpet with a pillow so he can't fall.
So i tried to sanitize it and wipe off the blood should I do anything else for now?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Keep your tortoise off the bed and in her enclosure. It's a much healthier place for her, and a whole lot safer.

Crush da Baum

Brooksville