Need help on Lighting/habitat Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

N2Tortoises

5 Year Member
Hello!
Im a newbie here. I havent even gotten or decided on a tortoise yet and Im already so confused! lol

I know that I want one of the smaller tortoises like a Greek or Star because he will have to be inside our home most of the year.

This what I have purchased so far:
*Extra large 36 X 18 Exo terra extra low aquarium,
*hood light fixture for UVA/UVB I attached a picture of it.

* Calcum sand mixed with bark, a bark log for a hiding place
*flat rocks for his nails
*shallow large water bowl for soaking/drinking
*exo terra light dome with infra red heat bulb
*shallow food bowl.

Does this look like a decent habitat for a tortoise? Every site and person i talk to at a pet store tells me something different. You will not hurt my feeling by telling me that this isnt appropriate. I want to make sure that I give this future tortoise the best I can in an inside environment.

Another question I have is about UV lighting/heat.

1. I have the infra red heat bulb for night, but do I really need a heating one if the UV lights keeps the heat at the right temp? It seems like it would make the overall tank too hot. Should i just use the heat lamp at night and just use a heat pad somewhere during the day? I read that the heat pads are not such a good idea so im concerned with that.

2. How much UVB do tortoises need?

3. Do they also need UVA?

Any input would be greatly appreciated. My head is spinning. lol

Thanks!
N2Tortoises

Attachments

• PT2611_Natural_Terrarium_Filled.jpg
    PT2611_Natural_Terrarium_Filled.jpg
    351.9 KB · Views: 38

Long Island Greek

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Long Island New York