New member needing some help

mrob13

Location (City and/or State)
Builth wells
Hi all.
Im new to tortoise ownership,i have recently acquired a 10 year old hermann which i keep in a table in the garage.he has spent the last 3 days buried under the substrate and hasn’t moved,it went cold this week and went down to 14 degrees in the garage. Im wandering has he gone into hibernation?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
You are suppose to provide heat for him. Tortoises can't just go right into brumation. They have to be off food for a time and soaked a lot before they do. They also need to have it done right and not left to do it on their own. They need a steady low temp to brumate.
You need to provide heat. 95-100F basking, 75-80F all over and no lower than 65F at night.
Then if you want to brumate him, start the process.

mrob13

Builth wells
You are suppose to provide heat for him. Tortoises can't just go right into brumation. They have to be off food for a time and soaked a lot before they do. They also need to have it done right and not left to do it on their own. They need a steady low temp to brumate.
You need to provide heat. 95-100F basking, 75-80F all over and no lower than 65F at night.
Then if you want to brumate him, start the process.
I do provide heat during the day for 10 hours and im aware of the procedure before hibernation.just didn’t expect him to go hibernation this early in the year

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I do provide heat during the day for 10 hours and im aware of the procedure before hibernation.just didn’t expect him to go hibernation this early in the year
But if your garage got that cold and he didn't have heat or it wasn't warm enough he would. However, if you get the heat up where it's suppose to be day and night, he likely will wake and be normal. Too cold and he's going to get sick and you won't be able to brumate him.