New Owner - Enclosure troubles!

Status
Not open for further replies.

DDuPre

5 Year Member
Hello everyone!

I am a new owner of a Red Footed Tortoise, Tortellini. I currently have the little guy/girl in a 20 gallon aquarium. After doing A LOT of research I keep reading that the glass aquarium's are not good because the keep too much heat in. The problem I am running into is that I cannot keep the aquarium warm enough! According to my newest thermometer (yes I got another one because I thought the first one was broken) I am averaging 78 degrees. This is too cool for a red foot. I have the two recommended lights directly on top of the mesh aquarium top. A 60 watt repto glow (kinda a blue color bulb) and then another bulb for uvb (I think). I cannot remember the specifics right now, I accidentally threw away the boxes!

I am looking to upgrade the enclosure to something more Tort friendly. However, I do wish to keep a semi-clear front; I am a teacher and having the tortoise in the classroom is a great teaching assistant! Please do not attack me for having a tortoise as a classroom pet, I have done a lot of research and did not enter into this un-educated. I continue to do my research and that is why I am here, for help to ensure that my little one gets the best possible care. Tortellini is a loved member of my classroom and my students learn so much from having him. We have been rigorously documenting his diet, growth, and temperature - bringing me here to help find a better way to regulate it. Has anyone had any success with a heat mat under the tank? I am scared this may burn him. Any suggestions would be great!!!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum, DDuPre!