New Russian Tortoise

johnsonnboswell

5 Year Member
Misting puts a little moisture in the air. Its not nearly enough. What is needed is moisture in the substrate, especially at a depth the tortoise can burrow into. Pour water in & stir it around. I have no experience with Cyprus mulch so I don't know how it is, if it gets moldy when damp, or if you'll need to change it out entirely.

lismar79

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio USA
Welcome! Hatchlings are much harder to care for so your wc adultis a good starter tort. It is impossible to guess the age. I have a wc too and I'm calling her 8 yrs old even though I do not know. Your shallow bowl will be fine and 3 times a week is also good.

rinconmike

5 Year Member
We went back and returned the compact bulb and fixture. Anyone have one to recommend? She said to go with a zoomed 10.0 in a regular fluorescent fixture. They also said I can do without the screen, I just need to hang the lights somehow.

Also, I asked about CB and WC. She said they have a breeder and it is a CB between 1 and 2 years old.

rinconmike

5 Year Member

lismar79

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
Yes, those power suns do both and are great bulbs. I am a fan of them.

Yellow Turtle01

5 Year Member
OH, USA
We went back and returned the compact bulb and fixture. Anyone have one to recommend? She said to go with a zoomed 10.0 in a regular fluorescent fixture. They also said I can do without the screen, I just need to hang the lights somehow.

Also, I asked about CB and WC. She said they have a breeder and it is a CB between 1 and 2 years old.
Most petstore employees don't know about the animals their selling, and they don't want you know he's probably WC. Some nasty stuff goes down on the way from the Mediterranean to here :(
I like tube UVBs, so that one is great :D 4'' is older than 1 year, for sure!
How's his diet now? If he's getting lettuce, cut it out and offer him weeds and flowers, it's way better for him!