New Russian tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Impulsive Adopter

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Pennsylvania
I just rescued a male russian and I was hoping for some guidance. I have a uv bulb, and a night time bulb, as well as a small pool for him to sit in.

I'm using a bark bedding and am feeding him kale, collards, broccoli, and carrots.

am I doing okay with my setup and care so far?

Amanda1

5 Year Member
Plainfield, IN
I'm still new to this but hopefully someone else will be by soon...

First, www.russiantortoise.org has some great information, so you should definitely check that out.

For now, what are your temperatures? (warm side, cool side, hot spot, and night time). As far as I know (again, hopefully someone will correct me if I'm wrong), the temps should be warm 85-95F, cool 75-85, basking 95-105, and night 65-70. This allows your tort to adjust his body temp be moving to a cooler/warmer part of the enclosure.
How big is your enclosure and what kind is it? Pictures are great :)
Be careful with your UV light. Coiled UV bulbs can cause blindness. A lot of people here use mercury vapor bulbs like the Zoo Med Powersun UV, which has heat, light, UVA, and UVB all in one.

I think bark is ok. I use a mix of coconut fiber (eco earth), coconut bark, and sand. From what I've read less sand is better.
As far as food, check russiantortoise.org, and here is another helpful thread:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread...ed-Greeks-Russians-Sulcatas-etc#axzz1ctTZsVj3

Good luck, and before I forget, welcome!

lynnedit

10 Year Member!
Southwest Washington
Amanda has given you good information (ok, maybe the cool side should be a bit cooler, nearer 70). The web site she cites and also the TFO thread contain very good diet advice.
Limit a carrot to once per month just to help sharpen his beak. Make sure he has a cuttle bone (same as for birds), he may ignore it for months, but they need to have it.