new to tortise's

Status
Not open for further replies.

pastelsoda

5 Year Member
Hello all, I am new to reptiles, and tortise's. I was curios on tortise's and wanted to try to keep one. I dont know where to start, and petco and petsmart people, I cant really seem to trust them. I have been in reef tank hobby for a very long time, with corals and reef fish, clams etc etc.
From that experince, they really have no clue what they are saying.

Anyway from that experince, I thought I'd try to find a tortise forum to get more correct information. Anyway, I would like to build a home for the tortise where I am going to keep him, and I need help where to start from.

What are the items I need inorder to start a turtle home? Help would be appreciated, thanks!

firework

5 Year Member
Where are you? I think reptile show is the best place to find a good pet tortoise for reasonable price. The state where I am living in doesn't allow turtle trading, so the shows don't have them. I am so envy of the people in FL and CA. I bought mine online (I think I paid three to four times the price they ask at reptile shows, and I couldn't see the stock or pick one in person). He had some minor health problems in the first couple of weeks, but this is my first tort and he is a hatchling. It might be my fault or from the stress of shipping. He is pretty good now.

Terry Allan Hall

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
The Republic O' Tejas
pastelsoda said:
Hello all, I am new to reptiles, and tortise's. I was curios on tortise's and wanted to try to keep one. I dont know where to start, and petco and petsmart people, I cant really seem to trust them. I have been in reef tank hobby for a very long time, with corals and reef fish, clams etc etc.
From that experince, they really have no clue what they are saying.