New tortoise owner

RockyRoxster

Location (City and/or State)
Surrey
Hi there, I am completely new to tortoises and have just collected our 6 month old Greek Spur -we love him (or her!)

But I have a question - he has settled in well, lamp goes on at 6.30 am, he gets up at 7, eats, wanders around but then goes back to bed at about midday and we don’t see him until next day!

Is this normal and if asleep from midday, does the basking lamp “need” to be on or could we switch it off.

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
Welcome to the forum. What lights are you using? Post pictures of the enclosure too.

Alex and the Redfoot

Cyprus
Hello!
It's normal for them to sleep a lot and hide a lot when they are young and adapting to the new environement.

But to be sure that everything's right, could you tell us what are temperatures in the enclosure (day and night, under basking lamp and in the colder part), what heating and lightning do you use and maybe post a photo of your setup? Sometimes wrong light and temperatures or too open space make them to hide a lot.

RockyRoxster

Surrey
Sure, it’s a uvb/uva lamp and is 30 deg underneath and in the far corner by the food it’s about 23/24 deg

Attachments

• IMG_0697.jpeg
    IMG_0697.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 3
  • IMG_0696.jpeg
    IMG_0696.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 5

EppsDynasty

Platinum Tortoise Club
Canebrake Ca
@Tom will be the author of the info you need. I am new to this whole technology thing and do not know how to post, put, show (whatever the hell it's called) the thread about new tort owners. I do know how to "Tag" someone, so I did that. I can tell you this though ...