Newbie, first day owner.

adamllewellyn

Location (City and/or State)
Durham
I'm a newbie in the tortoise world, just acquired a ten month old red-footed tortoise,and I'm curious if the humidity should remain on overnight? Or whether I should turn the vivarium off at night to replicate cooler temperatures? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• PXL_20220129_162747507.jpg
    PXL_20220129_162747507.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 13

Big Ron

Tortoise Club
Florida
Welcome to the forum glad you joined :) ,someone will help with your question i don't know anything about vivariums

adamllewellyn

Durham
Welcome to the forum glad you joined :) ,someone will help with your question i don't know anything about vivariums
Thanks! Yeah I'm just keeping it switched on at the moment, seen conflicting advice on Reddit threads and such so thought I'd come to a tortoise forum for reliable advice.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK
Hi and welcome,
Can you post some pics of your whole set up and the lamps you are using to get good feedback and help.
Are you using a humidifier? They aren't usually recommended for most species because the water droplets can be inhaled and cause problems especially if the temps aren't right so humidity is provided via substrate. However I don't keep RF so I may be wrong.
There are several caresheets in this section but I don't know which is the most up to date.
@ZEROPILOT will be able to point you in the right direction of the right caresheet when he pops in. and tell you what temps and humidity levels should be . Do you have a hide for your tort - he looks a bit exposed in the pic.

adamllewellyn

Durham
Hi and welcome,
Can you post some pics of your whole set up and the lamps you are using to get good feedback and help.